



## Mid-Term State Election Updates: North Dakota

By: Kerrie Farrell

The voter turnout in the 2018 midterm election broke North Dakota's midterm election record with 330,598 citizens voting. This is approximately 57% of North Dakota's eligible voters, according to the North Dakota Secretary of State.

In a widely publicized battle, Kevin Crammer (R) beat incumbent Heidi Heitkamp (D), picking up a seat for the Republican Party in the U.S. Senate. North Dakota's only U.S. House of Representative's seat was won by Republican Kelly Armstrong of Dickinson over Mac Schneider (D).

Republicans swept statewide offices with Incumbent Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem (R), Incumbent Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring (R), Incumbent Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger (R), and Incumbent Secretary of State Al Jaeger all winning. Overall, Republicans maintained supermajorities in both the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Democrats added one seat in the State Senate and two seats in the House of Representatives. Two of these races, however, may be subject to a recount. Of note is the defeat of longtime House Majority Leader Al Carlson (R) of Fargo's District 41. Representative Chet Pollert (R) of District 29 was selected to replace Carlson.

North Dakota Measure 1, pertaining to the transparency of funding sources, lobbyists, conflicts of interests and the establishment of an ethics commission, passed. North Dakotans for Sound Government was established to publically oppose Measure 1. The North Dakota Petroleum Council, Lignite Energy Council, Western Dakota Energy Association, and North Dakota Petroleum Marketers, among numerous other organizations, opposed Measure 1.